SCI PHI Journal

Sci Phi N6 cover

Via FreelanceWriting.com’s eNewsletter I found out about  SciPhi Journal, which combines two of my hobbies, science fiction and philosophy.

Just as I was despairing that the modern SF lost the philosophical depth of Bradbury’s, Le Guin’s and Strugatskys’ works. I also despaired that “the Kindle revolution”  is selecting for fast writing authors who churn out multiple sequels of mediocre quality.

In theory, magazines like this (selective acceptance, reader revenue based, paying the authors) can start a new Golden Era of SF just as the 1930s pulp fiction American magazines gave us SF classics.

P.S. I must declare a conflict of interests: I am submitting my short story to the magazine. However, I bought N3 and overall quality is good. I liked a story by Mark Andrew Edward so much that I started looking for his other work.

Leave a Reply

